DOHA – Max Verstappen had to bite his fingers after witnessing the superiority of Lewis Hamilton’s car in the 2021 Formula 1 GP Qatar qualifying session. His record time was not able to match the Mercedes car. Hamilton is confirmed to start from the front grid after winning pole position at the Losail Circuit, Doha, Saturday (20/11/2021) evening Indonesian time. The Mercedes driver carved the best time, 1 minute 20.827 seconds. Also read: Some points on the Mandalika Circuit were flooded after heavy rain, Hamilton was able to outperform his toughest rival, Max Verstappen, who was 0.2 seconds behind him. While Valtteri Bottas is fourth behind McLaren driver, Lando Norris.

But Verstappen was able to break Mercedes’ dominance at the end of Q1 by being the fastest. The bottom five drivers, Kimi Raikkonen, Nicholas Latifi, Antonio Giovinazzi, Mick Schumacher and Nikita Mazepin had to be eliminated in Q1.

In Q2, Hamilton who used soft tires was able to be the fastest, beating Verstappen and Bottas who used Medium tires. Pierre Gasly who also uses soft tires is able to be behind Hamilton.

Verstappen’s teammate, Sergio Perez, was surprisingly left out in Q2 after failing to break into the top 10. The other four drivers who also had to be eliminated were Lance Stroll, Charles Leclerc, Daniel Ricciardo, and George Russell.

In Q3, the competition between Hamilton and Verstappen became even more intense. But Hamilton was able to outperform Verstappen who was in second place with only a difference of 0.162 seconds.

At the end of qualifying, Hamilton was able to improve his record time and ensure himself to grab pole position. Behind him were Verstappen, Bottas, Gasly and Alonso.


2 Max Verstappen NED Red Bull Racing 1m21.282s

4 Pierre Gasly FRA Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda 1m21.640s

5 Fernando Alonso ESP Alpine F1 Team 1m21.670s

6 Lando Norris GBR McLaren F1 Team 1m21.731s

8 Yuki Tsunoda JPN Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda 1m21.881s

9 Esteban Ocon FRA Alpine F1 Team 1m22.028s

11 Sergio Perez MEX Red Bull Racing 1m22.346s

12 Lance Stroll CAN Aston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team 1m22.460s

14 Daniel Ricciardo AUS McLaren F1 Team 1m22.597s

15 George Russell GBR Williams Racing 1m22.756s

17 Nicholas Latifi CAN Williams Racing 1m23.213s

By Ichong