10 teams are confirmed to qualify for the 2022 World Cup finals from the UEFA zone. Meanwhile, 12 other countries must fight through the play-offs to get the remaining three places in Qatar.

The 2022 FIFA World Cup qualification for the UEFA zone is an interesting one. Because, UEFA became the country with the most representatives at the 2022 World Cup, 13 countries. There were a lot of teams that took part in the qualifiers.

Several leading countries went smoothly. England, France and Germany qualified quite comfortably. Meanwhile, the Netherlands must fight until the last match to ensure that they appear in the 2022 World Cup.

Apart from that, there were some surprises going on. Switzerland qualified automatically for the 2022 World Cup. Likewise with Serbia which dramatically won at home to Portugal in the last match of Group A.

Who are the Participants in the Play-offs
The UEFA zone 2022 World Cup Qualifying Round is divided into 10 groups. The group winners will automatically qualify for the 2022 World Cup finals. Meanwhile, the group stage runners-up must fight in the play-offs.

However, the play-offs will be followed by 12 countries. So, the participants in the play-offs were not only 10 countries who were runners-up in the group phase, but also two countries that qualified through the UEFA Nations League.

Two countries that qualify for the UEFA Nations League are Austria and the Czech Republic. They got the most points than any other contestant in League B.

Play-off Format
Later, the World Cup Qualification play-offs will not be held in person or a meeting of two teams where the winner will qualify for Qatar. The 12 Countries taking part in the play-offs will be divided into three different charts (Line A, B and C).

They will compete with the semifinal and final system which will be held in one leg. The seeded team will be the host in the semifinals, and the non-seeded team will be the visiting team. In the final match, the host is determined by lottery.

Portugal and Italy did not meet each other in the semifinals. However, if they are on the same path, the two teams may meet in the final. If that happens, one of the top teams will miss the 2022 World Cup.

The three winners of each path will qualify for the 2022 World Cup finals.

List of 12 Play-off Teams
Featured Team


Unseeded Team:

North Macedonia
Czech Republic

By Raufs